WFIT Features

Environment and Science
10:28 am
Wed April 24, 2013

Brevard Wildlife Corridor Hosts Beach Bike Ride

Fat-tire beach ride group at Canova Park.

For 16 days this month the Brevard Wildlife Corridor has hosted a moving festival, exploring the great outdoors in our county. Brevard is the first county to offer this unique experience, patterned after last year's Florida Wildlife Corridor. The goal: get people outdoors to experience and appreciate the outdoors the Space Coast. 

Read more
Environment and Science
10:54 am
Thu April 18, 2013

Florida Wildlife Corridor Film: Vision Of A Connected Land

Carlton Ward Jr., Elam Stolzfus, Mallory Lykes Dimmitt and Joe Guthrie speak to a packed auditorium at the West Palm Photographic Center premier of the film.

Last year four explorers took an epic journey through the Florida outdoors. They traveled the entire length of the state to raise public awareness for the Florida Wildlife Corridor, a vision to connect what remains of the natural lands and waterways of Florida's interior. Expedition members documented the journey through photography, social media updates, special events along the way and a documentary film. It's called Florida Wildlife Corridor Expedition: Everglades to Okefenokee, and is now showing on public television stations throughout the state.

Read more
Environment and Science
1:55 pm
Tue April 9, 2013

Local Expedition Connects Land And People

Participants gather at Lake Washington for the St. Johns River paddle.

Brevard County's outdoor enthusiasts will have many opportunities to explore the county's natural areas during the first ever Brevard Wildlife Corridor Expedition, through April 21st. During the expedition local conservationists will lead participants on a series of outdoor excursions throughout the Space Coast. Organizers hope to raise awareness about the importance of protecting the county's natural places.

Read more
WFIT Features
12:00 pm
Tue March 26, 2013

Florida Tech Campus Experiences Life Without The First Amendment

The First Amendment to the US Constitution bans restricting free exercise of religion, freedom of speech and peacefully assembling or petitioning. Many U.S. college students learn about the first amendment, but never experience life without it. Imagine not being allowed to choose what you eat for lunch, not being able to freely congregate with your friends or being forced to limit your conversations to only approved topics.

Read more
Environment and Science
9:26 am
Thu January 24, 2013

Palm Bay Scrub Jays Get New Lease On Life

A captured scrub jay bites its handler. Notice the identification bands on the jays legs. Each jay gets a unique color and number sequence.
Credit Vince Lamb

Recently, some Brevard County residents received a letter notifying them that some of their neighborhood birds were about to be captured and relocated to a conservation area. Partners in this effort - Brevard Zoo and state and federal wildlife services - say the move will be beneficial to the birds. For Florida scrub jays life in the suburbs is not always easy. 

Read more